Skip to content

Confessions of a bookworm

October 6, 2009

There’s nothing better than curling up with a good book. But seeing as books these days often carry heavy price tags, I am a huge fan of public libraries.

One of the first things I did when I started at the News-Press was get a Glendale Public Libraries card. Today after work, I plan to make my way down Brand Boulevard to Central Library to pick up a copy of “Shanghai Girl,” which I have on hold.

In case you haven’t heard, “Shanghai Girls” is this year’s selection for the Own Book One Glendale program, where residents are encouraged to all read the same book and then discuss it.

I’ve decided to take part, and I am quite excited to dive into the book, which has topped most of the national bestseller’s lists this summer.

When I’m done, I’ll let you all know what I think. If you’ve read it, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cindy Coan permalink
    October 6, 2009 3:57 pm

    I love this — I’m in…I’ll pick up the book tonight. what fun!

    ~Cindy coan

Leave a Reply

